Ghost Variants
Image via IllFonic

If there’s one thing I love about the newly released Ghostbusters: Spirits Unleashed, it’s the amount of creativity and freedom that IllFonic employs players with. From the different Ghostbusting gear to the customization of the busters themselves, there’s so much to love and get wrapped up within this awesome new title.

But besides playing as the “good guys”, players are also given the chance to play as Ghosts, with some of the fan-favorite ones making the roster. Today, we’ll explain how to customize and change your Ghosts in Ghostbusters: Spirits Unleashed so that you can haunt some locations yourself!

Ghost Types
Image via IllFonic

The first thing to know about ghosts in Ghostbusters: Spirits Unleashed is that they aren’t something you can play as right away. They’re unlocked beginning at level 3. There are a total of 5 different kinds of them to play as with each having several different variants with slightly different stats or abilities.

Here are the different Ghost Types and at which level they are unlocked:

  • Ectoplast – level 3
  • Ghouly – level 20
  • Basher – level 30
  • Howler – level 40
  • Poltergeist – level 50

Related: How to Customize Your Character in Ghostbusters: Spirits Unleashed

Unlocking new Ghost Varients is done so by playing as a specific Ghost Type and leveling it up. Over time, you’ll unlock the other variants of it.

When it comes to actually choosing the Ghost Type you’d like and customize their appearances, you’ll need to head to Ray’s shop where he has Tobin’s Spirit Guide. Interact with the book and you’ll be transported to the Ghost Realm. Once there, head to the left as there’s a podium lit with pink that says “Choose Ghost”.

Once there, you’ll be able to choose a Ghost Type and then you’ll be moved to a new menu. There, you’ll be able to see your Ghost’s abilities as well as its color. While you can’t change your Ghost’s abilities, you can change its color, and there are lots to choose from. New colors can be unlocked just by playing and leveling your Ghost up, similarly to unlocking new Variants.

But, that’s all there is to know when trying to customize or change your Ghosts in Ghostbusters: Spirits Unleashed! Be sure to check out some of our other great guides to learn even more about the newly released Ghostbusters: Spirits Unleashed and what it has to offer!