Having a reliable pass-rusher coming off the edge is a must for every franchise

Madden 22 screenshot
Image via Electronic Arts

There’s a very select group of individuals with the size and athleticism to become an elite pass-rushing defensive end in Madden NFL 22. Not only must they be big and strong enough to battle one-on-one with opposing offensive linemen, but they also need to be quick and agile enough to beat them off the edge, putting pressure on the quarterback.

The truth is elite defensive ends are almost impossible to come by, which is why when you get your hands on one, you need to do your best to hold on to them. To help you discover some of these hidden gems in Madden NFL 22, we’ve come up with a defensive end tier list ranking all of the best in the game.

Since player ratings fluctuate throughout the NFL season, the following tier list is based on each player’s abilities by the end of the year (including the playoffs). 

Here is our official Madden NFL 22 defensive end tier list:

S Tier Players

  • Aaron Donald (99), Los Angeles Rams
  • Myles Garrett (99), Cleveland Browns
  • Cameron Heyward (94), Pittsburgh Steelers
  • Nick Bosa (93), San Francisco 49ers
  • Cameron Jordan (92), New Orleans Saints
  • DeMarcus Lawrence (91), Dallas Cowboys
  • J.J. Watt (90), Arizona Cardinals

A Tier Players

  • Denielle Hunter (89), Minnesota Vikings
  • Jeffery Simmons (89), Tennessee Titans
  • Calais Campbell (88), Baltimore Ravens
  • Maxx Crosby (88), Las Vegas Raiders
  • Akiem Hicks (87), Chicago Bears
  • Arik Armstead (87), San Francisco 49ers
  • Brian Burns (86), Carolina Panthers
  • Chase Young (86), Washington Football Team

B Tier Players

  • Stephon Tuitt (86), Pittsburgh Steelers
  • Grady Jarrett (85), Atlanta Falcons
  • Trey Hendrickson (85), Cincinnati Bengals
  • Jadeveon Clowney (84), Cleveland Browns
  • Melvin Ingram (84), Kansas City Chiefs
  • Carl Lawson (83), New York Jets
  • Emmanuel Ogbah (83), Miami Dolphins
  • Leonard Williams (83), New York Giants
  • Ndamukong Suh (82), Tampa Bay Buccaneers
  • Randy Gregory (82), Dallas Cowboys
  • Yannick Ngakoue (82), Las Vegas Raiders

Related: Madden NFL 22 Defensive Tackle Tier List (July 2022)

C Tier Players

  • Brandon Graham (81), Philadelphia Eagles
  • John Franklin-Myers (81), New York Jets
  • Marcus Davenport (81), New Orleans Saints
  • Montez Sweat (81), Washington Football Team
  • Denico Autry (80), Tennessee Titans
  • Dexter Lawrence II (80), New York Giants
  • Everson Griffen (80), Minnesota Vikings
  • Jerry Hughes Jr. (80), Buffalo Bills
  • Christian Wilkins (79), Miami Dolphins
  • Josh Sweat (79), Philadelphia Eagles
  • Shelby Harris (79), Denver Broncos

D Tier Players

  • Deatrich Wise Jr. (78), New England Patriots
  • Derek Wolfe (78), Baltimore Ravens
  • Frank Clark (78), Kansas City Chiefs
  • Lawrence Guy (78), New England Patriots
  • Bilal Nichols (77), Chicago Bears
  • Carlos Dunlap II (77), Seattle Seahawks
  • Chase Winovich (77), New England Patriots
  • Dawuane Smoot (77), Jacksonville Jaguars
  • Kwity Paye (77), Indianapolis Colts
  • William Gholston (77), Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Tier E Players

  • A’Shawn Robinson (76), Los Angeles Rams
  • Derek Barnett (76), Philadelphia Eagles
  • Dre’Mont Jones (76), Denver Broncos
  • Greg Rousseau (76), Buffalo Bills
  • Jonathan Greenard (76), Houston Texans
  • Samson Ebukam (76), San Francisco 49ers

Tier F Players

  • Dean Lowry (75), Green Bay Packers
  • Justin Madubuike (75), Baltimore Ravens
  • Mario Addison (75), Buffalo Bills
  • Sam Hubbard (75), Cincinnati Bengals
  • Sheldon Richardson (75), Minnesota Vikings

That concludes our Madden NFL 22 tier list ranking all of the best defensive ends in the game. In the meantime, be sure to check out some of our other Madden content here at Gamer Journalist. Like all players rated 99 or higher in Madden 23 or everything included with each edition of Madden 23.