Final Fantasy Logo Screen
Image via Square Enix

Whether or not you’ve played any of their games, Final Fantasy is a recognizable series to most people. Final Fantasy games take up a huge chunk of the videogame market, it’s nearly impossible to shop for games anywhere without seeing the Final Fantasy logo slapped on half of the merchandise. Square Enix has been making Final Fantasy games for decades, with the first Final Fantasy game having been released in 1987 on the NES. With a series that’s been out on the market for so long, one must wonder just how many games could possibly have accumulated; the answer is actually a bit debatable but is definitely surprising!

Here’s How Many Final Fantasy Games There Are

There are fifteen official games in the main Final Fantasy storyline, which is a hefty sum in itself, but it doesn’t even begin to include the number of Final Fantasy spin-offs, prequels, sequels, and other Final Fantasy related games that have been made. The total number of Final Fantasy games, including the fifteen main games, is closer to ninety-five!

The reservoir of Final Fantasy games is massive and can be more than a little daunting for new players. With its final game count nearly in the triple digits, it’s no wonder why many players aren’t sure where to begin. Playing every Final Fantasy game ever made is an achievement reserved for only the most extreme Final Fantasy fans and masochists, so for the rest of the gamer population, playing the main fifteen games in order is usually a more realistic and digestible goal. If you’d like to branch out to the other Final Fantasy games afterward, that’s cool, you’ll still have a better understanding of where you’ll stand story-wise. But even with that clear goal in mind, players can still be left with questions about where to start. Which Final Fantasy games are the main fifteen? What order should they be played in?

Related: The Best Final Fantasy Games

If you’re still unsure, here is a chronological list of all the main fifteen games, and the years they were released; they all have their corresponding Roman numerals in their titles, so they’ll be easier to track down online. For those of you who don’t know all your roman numerals or don’t feel like googling a roman numeral conversion chart, here are all the games listed chronologically.

Every Main Final Fantasy Game:

  1. Final Fantasy I – Released in 1987

2. Final Fantasy II – Released in 1988

3. Final Fantasy III – Released in 1990

4. Final Fantasy IV – Released in 1991

5. Final Fantasy V – Released in 1992

6. Final Fantasy VI – Released in 1994

7. Final Fantasy VII – Released in 1997

8. Final Fantasy VIII – Released in 1999

9. Final Fantasy IX – Released in 2000

10. Final Fantasy X – Released in 2001

11. Final Fantasy XI: Online – Released in 2002

12. Final Fantasy XII – Released in 2006

13. Final Fantasy XIII – Released in 2009

14. Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn – Released in 2013

15. Final Fantasy XV – Released in 2016

Final Fantasy is an enormous franchise with almost too many games to consider, however, if you’re up to the challenge and have a great deal of free time, challenge yourself by playing them all! If you’re a die-hard Final Fantasy fan and can’t wait for Final Fantasy XVI to come out, check out this comprehensive list of all the best Final Fantasy games to fill the Final Fantasy void! Be sure to stay up to date with all the latest Final Fantasy news with Gamer Journalist!