alone-within-the-darkish,-trine-5,-and-extra-to-be-proven-off-at-thq-nordic’s-summer-time-showcase

THQ Nordic’s Digital Showcase will grace our screens once more this summer time, and guarantees to “not solely embrace world premiere bulletins but additionally updates and divulges for previously-announced video games”. It’s going to run on August 11 at 12 pm PDT / 3 pm EDT / 8 pm BST / 9 pm CEST / 10 pm EEST on the corporate’s YouTube and Twitch pages, and in addition its Steam web page, when you’re actually eager to observe it there for some purpose.

THQ is conserving schtum about its full line-up, but it surely did point out three video games that can be placing in an look on the show within the occasion’s press launch. These are Alone within the Darkish, Outcast 2, and Trine 5. 

Personally, I am most to listen to extra about Alone within the Darkish, THQ Nordic’s reanimation of the once-esteemed horror collection that is been dormant since 2015 (not with out purpose: the collection’ final entry earlier than THQ Nordic purchased it was the unloved Alone within the Darkish: Illumination). This new entry guarantees a “fully unique story” from the author of SOMA, so it may find yourself being one thing actually particular if the celebs align right.

Outcast 2, which I maintain by accident typing as ‘Outlast 2’ every time I write it, is a full-on sequel to 1999’s cult traditional motion journey game. The primary game obtained a remake in 2017, and I assume did properly sufficient that THQ noticed match to announce the sequel in 2021.

Lastly, Trine 5 is one other entry within the much-loved Trine collection (you may inform by the title), a set of sidescrolling puzzle-platformers—aside from the third game, a 3D journey that followers did not like a lot—that see you play as a knight, mage and thief, profiting from the skills of every to make your method by way of every game’s ranges. This one solely obtained introduced lately, and is due for a launch later this yr, so it will be good to listen to extra about it on the showcase.

Final yr’s showcase featured a tease for a possible (emphasis on potential) upcoming South Park game, and it is potential we’d get some information on that entrance on the August occasion, too.

And that is your lot, I am afraid. Besides it is not. THQ Nordic presumably has a bunch extra issues up its voluminous, mental property-stuffed sleeves that it is ready to indicate off, but it surely did not deign to say them within the announcement. When you ask me, the corporate’s primary precedence needs to be to cease faffing round with Destroy All People and discover a method so as to add Mercenaries: Playground of Destruction—Pandemic Studios’ actual best game—to its dragon’s hoard of IP. It is gotta pop up at one in every of these occasions eventually, right?